WordPress Opportunists

It was almost a year ago since I created this blog. I’ve experienced really good moments with it, but I’ve also noticed other matters which I don’t personally like so much. The good ones are focused on my own satisfaction for writing in English. Nevertheless, I’ve observed a conduct that I dislike and that I believe, it is a description of what the human being is becoming or has already become.

Some time ago, I wrote about one human specie which I called “the likers” (you can read the post about it clicking in here). I defined the likers as those who like your posts without reading them. What are “the likers” trying to get with this behaviour? That you can like one of their blogs back and follow them. The issue is that there are a bunch of people who act like that. They want you to read their stuff, without reading yours. We could also call them spammers. For instance, fifteen hour after I published my last post (There was a man, that you can also check if you’re interested), I had four likes, but only one view. And I don’t allow anyone to read my posts unless they enter in my blog. That means that at least three people liked my post without reading it and one might read it or not. I unknown your thoughts about this, but I rather receive one like for a person who actually read the post than a hundred from spammers who don’t give a shit.

Something very similar happens with the followers. I don’t have many followers, but I can tell that most of them followed me in the first place, hoping me to follow them back. Many of them still remain in my “follower list” because they might have so many “followings” that they don’t bother to erase them if they don’t follow them back.

Therefore, WordPress and all the social networks are full of opportunists. I dare to say that is due to the individualistic society of the developed world that we live in. For this society that we’ve created, there is only one important thing, and that’s defined by the word “me”. There’s another characteristic of this society and of part of the network users: “fast”. “Me” and “fast” define the conduct of these beings. Talking about wordpress users, they want to have a successful blog with millions of views, as fast as they can, without looking at others or caring about the people an its needs. However, if you want to learn about wordpress, you will have to read other blogs and learn from their experiences. Find out, through these readings, what the people want to read and what they don’t. That’s something that we use to forget about (and I’m included). Learning from the past and from others’ experiences is a key factor to create a successful or at least interesting blog. Luckily, not everyone wants to be liked by the whole world, and thanks to these people, we can enjoy really original stories, and enriching and rewarding readings.

The opportunists WordPress users, which I kindly call “likers”, will like this post. But I encourage you to check those likes and their blogs to realise that they lack of soul, of personality. They are like empty spaces who live from other opportunists.

Thus, I could tell you to read and like, if you really feel it. But as this is going to be read just by those who actually do that, I won’t say anything more. Just read to be different. Read to be you, not me. To enjoy and not to be fast. Read to write.

3 thoughts on “WordPress Opportunists

  1. Well. You have a point here. But really, don’t call it opportunism. Maybe someone only likes the post photo (and doesn’t need to read your post) or maybe someone wants to give you the opportunity to be more read in the blogosphere. So, don’t be so judgemental. Take care and keep on writing for yourself, and don’t worry about the Likers, we’ve got plenty of them even in the real world. Just let us be aware of it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

