A Letter to the Academy

Beloved Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences… Well, I mean people who deliver little men in golden to other not so little men and women in not black,

There is a request I would deeply love you to fulfil. Give the academy award for best actor in a leading role to Matt Damon. I will not be upset if you send it to Bryan Cranston. The point is: do not give it to Leonardo DiCaprio!

First of all, I would like to state that I do not have any problem with this great actor. In fact, as far as I am concerned, he should have won at least one of the past nominations. But as you always denied him the award, I believe you should continue in the denial phase. Even though you act as you do not care, I know you are wondering why.

Well, I would love to see the world collapse due to another not winning night for DiCaprio. And this year would be perfect. He has won all the awards he was nominated to and you (the academy) have not nominated any black actor. If you want this year’s contest to be remembered for ever, give it to Matt Demon who also has no one.

Nevertheless, if I speak from a neutral perspective, if you give it to DiCaprio, this year will be remembered as the year DiCaprio finally won an Oscar. But what about the black actors? All the polemic will be focused on that. However, if you add another great polemic like refusing the DiCaprio’s statuette, the chances of speaking about the lack of black actors nominations will be hugely reduced. And I would go even further, probably that topic will be completely forgotten.

I appreciate you taking the time to consider this wangle. You know this is the best for all parts (maybe not so good for DiCaprio’s…). Just take a thought and you will see that it is the most suitable arrangement.

Matt Damon will be looking forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,

Vladimir.

Leave a Reply

