Outstanding Outlander

I was wandering around my living room when my TV showed a trailer of a new TV series. I had never heard about it until that moment. Its name was Outlander. It looked like an adventure series, and after watching several TV shows which mainly care about the characters, like Fargo (which is awesome), I thought that watching one which emphasises more the story would be appropriate.

I had high hopes about it, and it didn’t disappoint me at all. It was a really frenetic show during most of the episodes. The characters performance is perfect, as well as the script (based on a series of novels), the costumes and the cinematography. However, there was something that I didn’t like: the main character, Claire (played by Caitriona Balfe). I don’t like her due to her behaviour, the way she is. The character is too active for me. If she was real, I wouldn’t be able to handle my extreme tranquility with her incessant activity. I hope you know what I mean. But don’t get me wrong, the role is tremendous and the actress does a superb job. If I don’t like her, I know it is my fault, but I’m trying to get along with it.

Despite that I don’t like her, Outlander is brilliant in every aspect. And the point that despite I don’t like its main character, I like the show, makes the show even greater. From my perspective, of course.

But one of the things I love the most about this series, is the vision of the 1743 Scotland. When I watched it, I felt like I was set in that moment, I felt inside the story. From a historical and cultural point of view, it is also a faithful, accurate and summing up, magnificent journey. Because that’s what it is, a perfect time and space journey.

On the other hand, if I’m honest, I have to say that I choked some episodes. Two or three, no more. Out of sixteen, it is not that bad. In fact, it is the tv series that it gave me better vibes from the 2015. And I don’t like the word vibes, so imagine how much I respect this show to say the word vibes three times.

Although I don’t think it is the best of the year, it was different from others which are more mainstream (admitting that nowadays, it is mainstream not to be mainstream, or in other words, it is trendy not to be mainstream). Besides, I’m enchanted by adventure stories, and this is the perfect example of what an adventure story is. Nevertheless, if you have plans to watch Outlander, I have to warn you something. If you watch it, you will probably want to visit Scotland afterwards. Remember that I told you.

Leave a Reply

